Connect with us

My Weekly Preview

New councillors join incumbents at Sunshine Coast Council


New councillors join incumbents at Sunshine Coast Council

Mayor Mark Jamieson will complete another term as the mayor of the Sunshine Coast Council, with his win confirmed soon after the local government elections were held on Saturday, March 28.

After waiting for final numbers to be tallied, the Queensland Electoral Commission has now formally declared the names of our new and returning councillors. The new Sunshine Coast Council has retained half of its former councillors, with five new members joining the council.

In Division 1, Rick Baberowski was re-elected. Division 2 councillor and former deputy mayor Tim Dwyer did not recontest the election, opting for a change of career after 20 years as a local council representative. The councillor for Division 2 is now Terry Landsberg.

Peter Cox was re-elected in Division 3, while well-known Sunshine Coast identity and former Maroochy Shire Council mayor Joe Natoli ousted John Connolly to become the councillor for Division 4.

With long-time Division 5 councillor Jenny McKay stepping down, this division had 10 hopefuls vying for the job, which was won by Winston Johnston.

Christian Dickson was re-elected in Division 6, Ted Hungerford was re-elected in Division 7 and Jason O’Pray was re-elected in Division 8.

Maria Suarez will replace Steve Robinson in Division 9 and David Law will be replacing Greg Rogerson in Division 10.

More in News

To Top