Connect with us

My Weekly Preview

Victory for North Shore Boardriders



Victory for North Shore Boardriders

North Shore’s power surfer, Alister Reginato, is stoked to move one step closer to winning a second national final.

Reigning national champions North Shore Boardriders were awarded the 2020 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle QLD qualifier last weekend. The competition was held at Duranbah Beach on the Gold Coast in punchy two-foot waves and was the first of eight state qualifier events held around the country before finals to be held early next year.

North Shore defeated Snapper Rocks, Noosa, and Burleigh Boardriders respectively in a nail-biting final. All four teams now head to the national final to be held in 2021.

Burleigh’s Liam O’Brien started off the heat with a 5.4 out of a possible 10.00 to take an early lead, but after all teams progressed through the heat with their various surfers, it was North Shore who’s accumulative total heat score was able to secure victory.

North Shore’s power surfer, Alister Reginato, is stoked to take out the QLD qualifier and move one step closer to winning a second national final.

“It’s pretty epic,” Reginato says.

“It was our goal to win the national final, which we were able to achieve last season.

We’ve never won the QLD qualifier event – which is just as important to us because we’re surfing against all our local clubs and we know everyone here really well, so it’s super competitive.

“We have a great team, we all push each other at our club events and training, and I guess it shows when we’re in the water together.”

Burleigh Boardriders’ Liam O’Brien won the Oakley Prizm Award for best performer of the day.

Now in its eighth season, the Nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective state qualifying events and the national final.

Adding to the high stakes at the state qualifying events will be two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) is presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre.


1st: North Shore Boardriders

2nd: Snapper Rocks Surfriders

3rd: Noosa Boardriders

4th: Burleigh Boardriders

More in Sport

Our Sister Publications

Sunshine Coast News Your Time Magazine Salt Magazine
To Top